"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Recipes & Ingredients > Sauces, Marinades, Rubs > Sauces

Old 06-22-2006, 01:36 AM   #1
Assistant Cook

Post Thai Style Sauce

Here's something I've been working on, pour it over a fried piece of fish, I like it with salmon.

It's not exactly where I want it yet, seems a little to sour, but I don't want to add sugar. Would palm sugar help this dish? Any recomendations would be welcome.

Please try it, it's quite a nice sauce and compliments fish nicely, especially white fish. But like I saide, on a thick salmos steak it's delicious.

This is my first time writing a recipe so be kind

Thai Style Sauce

Juice of 4 limes
1/4 Cup Water
1 cm Grated Ginger
[edited] 1 Cup chopped Corriander Leaves
1 Chili Finely Chopped, seeds removed
1 teaspoon cornflour
1 tbsp extra water

Add lime juice and water to a pot on low to medium heat
Add Ginger, Chili, Corriander and bring to a gentle simmer slowly.
Season with salt and pepper as required. Beware, chili adds spice to this sauce, so not much pepper is required.

Mix cornflour and extra water in a container, mix well and add to pot.
Mix vigourously until thick.

Pour over a seared fillet of fish.

Old 06-22-2006, 08:58 AM   #2
Executive Chef

Send a message via MSN to urmaniac13 Send a message via Skype™ to urmaniac13
A delicious new idea, especially for a grilled fish!! Do you mean coriander seeds, or coriander leaves here?

Old 06-22-2006, 08:58 AM   #3
Senior Cook

Quote:
Originally Posted by kfarrell
It's not exactly where I want it yet, seems a little to sour, but I don't want to add sugar. Would palm sugar help this dish? Any recomendations would be welcome.