What is the difference between stock and broth?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Mr_Dove

Senior Cook
What is the difference between a stock on a broth? Being a somewhat lazy cook I often substitute chicken broth for chicken stock and beef broth for beef stock.

I'm curious if I'm missing out on any flavors here though.

Technically speaking, stock must contain bones in addition to any meat and seasonings. Broth is made from meat and seasonings without bones.

As a result, it is technically incorrect to refer to a vegetable broth as a vegetable stock.

However, the two terms are fast becoming interchangeable in the vernacular. The technical differences are becoming less important in general use.

That being said, stock will have a different texture and mouth feel as a result of the colagen extracted from the bones and connective tissues. A chilled stock will, in fact, have a semi solid, jell-o like consistency from the colagens.

Andy M. said:
Technically speaking, stock must contain bones in addition to any meat and seasonings. Broth is made from meat and seasonings without bones.

As a result, it is technically incorrect to refer to a vegetable broth as a vegetable stock.

However, the two terms are fast becoming interchangeable in the vernacular. The technical differences are becoming less important in general use.

That being said, stock will have a different texture and mouth feel as a result of the colagen extracted from the bones and connective tissues. A chilled stock will, in fact, have a semi solid, jell-o like consistency from the colagens.

I just learned something new!!! I wondered why when I made beef or chicken stock that it jellied up after it was put in the fridge. Not so much with chicken than beef stock. Wow, amazing the stuff you learn!

There are three terms that always confuse me: broth, consomme, and stock.