"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Cookware and Accessories
Old 06-07-2016, 04:36 PM   #1
Assistant Cook
Cooking essentials...

I know there are probably a hundred and one posts asking this but I thought I would see what the view is of people!

I am new to cooking and initially bought everything on a very tight budget and bought for 'convenience' more than quality...

Now I am looking to improve my cooking, I am wondering what everyone sees as their 'cooking essentials'

What couldn't you live without in your kitchen?
What is the best things to buy to create better dishes in the kitchen?
And just any gadgets in general!

~ Paul

pmawson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2016, 05:02 PM   #2
Executive Chef
For us, that question has no easy answer. As we expand into different cuisines, our essentials expand. This is like the "pantry", condiment questions. There isn't a final, conclusive answer!

Emeralds are real Gems! C. caninus & C. Batesii.
CraigC is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2016, 05:12 PM   #3
Chef Extraordinaire
Site Moderator
Cooking essentials...

I like my food processor, spice grinder (don't use it for coffee), Liddle Griddle, slow cookers, toaster oven, a few sharp knives, and an immersion blender.

However, when I went to college, I had the most miserable beat-up set of pots and pans, some very dull knives, and managed to make do.
She who dies with the most toys, wins.
Dawgluver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2016, 05:15 PM   #4
Certified Pretend Chef
Originally Posted by pmawson View Post

...What couldn't you live without in your kitchen?
What is the best things to buy to create better dishes in the kitchen?
And just any gadgets in general!

~ Paul
First and foremost is your desire to be better and your commitment to learn. Learn your craft as well as you can. You create great dishes, your equipment doesn't.