"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Cookware and Accessories

Old 10-10-2011, 09:42 PM   #1
Assistant Cook

Getting cookware from closed down restaurants?

Hi all, first post here!

So I'm a recent college grad planning to move out of my parents I remember house, and I'm excited to finally start stocking my own kitchen!

I remember reading in Bourdain's Kitchen Confidential that one should try buying cooking utensils from restaurants that have recently closed down. Has anyone done this or know how to go about it? I can't seem to figure it out. Googling "recently closed restaurants" in my area doesn't really turn up anything. I just need some high-quality, thick-bottomed pots and pans, and maybe even silverware for relatively cheap.

I have already picked out a good chef's knife and a cast iron pan, as those are items I'm willing to invest a fair amount of money in.

Suggestions?

General tips on starting my first collection of cookware also appreciated.

Old 10-10-2011, 09:52 PM   #2
Executive Chef

Site Moderator

Just seek out the restaurant supply store in your area. They already have pretty good prices on professional grade equipment. I buy lots of stuff there.

For used stuff, have you checked Craigslist?

http://bakingbetter.com
bakechef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 10:08 PM   #3
Chef Extraordinaire

Site Moderator

Location: I live in the Heartland of the United States - Western Kentucky
Quote:
Originally Posted by bakechef View Post
Just seek out the restaurant supply store in your area. They already have pretty good prices on professional grade equipment. I buy lots of stuff there.

For used stuff, have you checked Craigslist?
I second the restaurant supply store suggestion. There are several in my rural area and I've purchased lots of wonderful items.