Glass Cookware

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Pyrex are great in my opinion...they are very durable and tough....we have never had one break and I have even had one drop on a tiled floor :)

We have 4 pyrex jugs and 4 pyrex bowls, wouldnt be without them ;)

Oven safe glass is safe for, well, OVEN use. I've been baking in Pyrex for 50 years, not a single broken dish ever.

The broken Pyrex in the Consumer's Reports tests were broken by NOT following the correct procedures for use, and took several attempts to get them to break at that. I have never come across an incident of broken Pyrex that didn't involve user error.

For instance, if you pull the hot dish out of the oven and set it on the cold stovetop, which many people do routinely, it is unlikely to break the first, second, third, etc. time that you do that. However, each time you do this, it creates stress fractures which cannot be seen with the naked eye.

Then, eventually, it will "explode" in the oven when those stress fractures have reached the point of no return and get heated up one time too many. Meanwhile the cook who's been abusing the cookware for months or years stands there and says, "But I didn't do a thing to it!".

Yes they did. Cumulative damaged caused over time by misuse.

Oven safe glass is safe for, well, OVEN use. I've been baking in Pyrex for 50 years, not a single broken dish ever.

The broken Pyrex in the Consumer's Reports tests were broken by NOT following the correct procedures for use, and took several attempts to get them to break at that. I have never come across an incident of broken Pyrex that didn't involve user error.