"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Cookware and Accessories

Old 05-25-2013, 08:19 PM   #1
Assistant Cook

Help with New Cast Iron Pan - Bad Mistake!!

Hi. I'm desperately in need of some help here, from all you knowledgeable users of Cast Iron Pans.

I'm new to cooking really, and many people told me that Cast Iron pans were the best for spreading the heat and even cooking etc. So I've bought one.

The first thing I found is that it's wonderful for strengthening the arm muscles.

The second thing I've found out [ or rather it's been confirmed], is that a little knowledge can be extremely dangerous. I was told it was important to 'season the pan', or it will never be the same again. [And that part is certainly true, as I don't think mine will be !!]

So on-line I went, and read about 7 or 8 varying ways to season a cast iron pan. All of which were really similar, so I thought I couldn't go wrong.

Ha Ha !!

What none of the posts explained, or cautioned, [ no doubt thinking that no-one could be so ignorant as to not know this fact,] is that other than coating it with a thin layer of oil, and then wiping it off again, you don't have to season an enamel cast iron pan.

But I did. Coated it inside and out with cooking oil, lid as well, and then baked it for an hour in the oven at about 350. When I took it out it was covered in medium brown stains all over, and far from having a spanking new cream enamel finish, it now looks like a David Hockney painting on one of his off days. Inside and out. Top and bottom. I imagine it must be burnt oil.

Later, after thinking about it, I tentatively tried a bit of water on it, and eventually a spot of washing up liquid, all to no avail.