Ironchef - Non-reactive pot question for you...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kitchenelf

Chef Extraordinaire
When a recipe (poultry brine to be exact but there are others) calls for something to be cooked in a non-reactive pot are my hard anodized Calphalon pots considered non-reactive?

Thanks.

Ironchef, another question about quality pots and pans...

Aren't Calphalon pans good quality? I'm not talking about the stuff Target sells, I'm talking these are the pans I got 17 years ago - they are the commercial line - I know they're hard-anodized aluminum - should I start switching over? I really want the Viking cookware and I can get anything at cost - what's your thoughts?

welll, for when i am cooking at home, i have three brands. i've never used viking before, so i wouldn't know how good their products are. i don't think it matters THAT much about your cookware, just as long as you're not buying the real cheap stuff. so depending on a person's budget, how often they cook, what they cook, etc., they can tailor their own cookware to fit their own needs. here's what I have:

All-Clad Stainless Steel - 8" french skillet, 10" french skillet, 12" french skillet, 10" saute pan, 12" saute pan, 2-Quart Sauce pan, 4-Quart Sauce pan, 6-Quart Stock pot, 10-Quart Stock pot, Steamer and Pasta inserts

Analon - 12" Non-stick french skillet, 10" non-stick french skillet

Le Creuset - Cast Iron Square Skillet Grill, 5.5 Quart Round French Oven, 6.5 Quart Oblong French Oven

I have a whole bunch of baking stuff too, but that's mostly my girlfriend's stuff. I don't bake, can't bake, and wouldn't want to bake. I'm not too good at following directions, which is a must for baking. Not enough freedom in my opinion vs. cooking.