"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Cookware and Accessories

Old 05-01-2007, 10:15 PM   #1
Assistant Cook

Need Cookware Advice

I am a housewife and always cook at home.I want yr advice regarding cooking utensils.I make curries,stir fries,sautees etc.I want to know which is the best pan for cooking.I like to use a wok.At present I am using a non-stick pan for shallow fries, sometimes aluminium wok for shallow fries and making curries.I avoid making anything acidic in aluminuim.Even if I make,I quickly transfer it to a steel dish.could U tell me which is the best material for cooking? non-stick or enamel coated cast iron wok.I haven't yet purchased a enamel coated cast iron wok but I guess,it is pretty heavy.I am a thin person,so it may be heavy for me.I am confused and will be very happy if U could advise me abt the best material for cooking,which is not toxic but safe for cooking.

Is non-stick the best? if it is,then is it safe? and need we change it often.Pls feel free to post yr opinion.

Old 05-01-2007, 10:23 PM   #2
Chef Extraordinaire

Site Moderator

Location: I live in the Heartland of the United States - Western Kentucky
First, "Hi," chitra67. Welcome to DC. We're glad you have found us.

I don't have the answer to your question, but there are many knowledgeable members who certainly can help you. Just be patient and the answers will come.

Stay and enjoy everything we have to share.

Old 05-01-2007, 10:26 PM   #3
Assistant Cook

thanks katie for the warm welcome.
Old 05-01-2007, 10:53 PM   #4
Chef Extraordinaire

Send a message via MSN to kitchenelf
I wish I could help too. I have a set of hard anodized aluminum but would love to switch to stainless steel, however, that would cause a divorce!

Frankly, the cast iron wok sounds like it would be a good choice. Then maybe you could get a stainless steel saute pan.