"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Cookware and Accessories

Old 07-25-2005, 11:52 AM   #1
Assistant Cook

Pastry and Baking Basics

Hi, I'm new to the world of pastries and breads.
I'm only a 16 year old guy but I'm incredibly intrigued by the whole aspect of making delicious and beautiful pastries. I was wondering if anyone could list off the basic "tools" I would need to take my first few steps into baking. My family kitchen isn't equipped with anything baking-related(except for the obvious-oven,baking tray,casserole) so I need to equip it properly.
Thanks for you time and help.

P.S. It would also be great if you could suggest easy ideas that I could try as my first experiments.

Old 07-25-2005, 02:01 PM   #2
Senior Cook

Send a message via MSN to msalper
Wellcome DiscussCooking Swifty!!!

Every question like yours make me researcher. Here is a link for you... Not exact answer maybe but DC is full of good chefs :).

http://www.fbnr.com/ECguide/ECGhtml/84520.htm

Old 07-25-2005, 05:12 PM   #3
Assistant Cook

Thanks alot!
Old 07-25-2005, 06:47 PM   #4
Executive Chef

You could also consider working part time at a small bakery even if its just washing dishes and before you know it you will be learning all kinds of things plus you earn as you learn they may start you small baking cookies but you will learn alot about weights and meashures and if you pick it up quickly which you should be able to do since you find it interesting next thing you know you will be taking on more and more to learn.Thats how I learned, of course I had some experience from starting out making simple things at home,cookies,poundcake,quick breads etc.
Old 07-25-2005, 08:56 PM   #5
Master Chef