Pastry and Baking Basics

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Swifty

Assistant Cook
Hi, I'm new to the world of pastries and breads.
I'm only a 16 year old guy but I'm incredibly intrigued by the whole aspect of making delicious and beautiful pastries. I was wondering if anyone could list off the basic "tools" I would need to take my first few steps into baking. My family kitchen isn't equipped with anything baking-related(except for the obvious-oven,baking tray,casserole) so I need to equip it properly.
Thanks for you time and help.

P.S. It would also be great if you could suggest easy ideas that I could try as my first experiments.

:) You could also consider working part time at a small bakery even if its just washing dishes and before you know it you will be learning all kinds of things plus you earn as you learn they may start you small baking cookies but you will learn alot about weights and meashures and if you pick it up quickly which you should be able to do since you find it interesting next thing you know you will be taking on more and more to learn.Thats how I learned, of course I had some experience from starting out making simple things at home,cookies,poundcake,quick breads etc.

Last edited:
The first three things you need are: a library card, a good librarian, and transportation to the library. Tell the librarian you're looking for beginner level books on bread and pastries and she/he can help you find something to get you started. Or, if your Mom has any cookbooks - try starting with them.

Once you do some reading and figure out what you want to try first (which type of bread or which type of pastry) then you'll have an idea of what kitchen equipment you need to start with.