"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Cookware and Accessories

Old 07-01-2006, 09:13 PM   #1
Sous Chef

Which fondue set should I get?

One made with cast iron (sp) or with stainless steele?

Old 07-01-2006, 10:02 PM   #2
Certified Pretend Chef

I'm not a fondue expert.

However, I'd go with the cast iron over stainless because of cast iron's ability to provide even heat and eliminate hot spots. This will help keep the cheese from burning. Cast iron will take longer to heat up but will be the better choice in the long run.

Old 07-02-2006, 10:49 PM   #3
Sous Chef

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy M.
I'm not a fondue expert.

However, I'd go with the cast iron over stainless because of cast iron's ability to provide even heat and eliminate hot spots. This will help keep the cheese from burning. Cast iron will take longer to heat up but will be the better choice in the long run.
Thanks. I'm going to buy a castiron set I found at Ikea on sale for $35.
Old 07-03-2006, 07:26 AM   #4
Senior Cook

As a sidenote: during the 80s I was traveling a LOT. I used to pack a small electric fondue pot (aluminum) to take with me. Although it would take awhile for anything to actually come to a boil, I could cook a variety of things in that pot.

People would stop by my room often to see what I'd have cooking. Armed with my fondue pot and an electric timer, I would always have something of a hot meal ready for me when I got back from a flight mission.

Ciao,
Old 07-31-2006, 04:33 PM   #5
Master Chef