Which fondue set should I get?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
I'm not a fondue expert.

However, I'd go with the cast iron over stainless because of cast iron's ability to provide even heat and eliminate hot spots. This will help keep the cheese from burning. Cast iron will take longer to heat up but will be the better choice in the long run.

Andy M. said:
I'm not a fondue expert.

However, I'd go with the cast iron over stainless because of cast iron's ability to provide even heat and eliminate hot spots. This will help keep the cheese from burning. Cast iron will take longer to heat up but will be the better choice in the long run.
Thanks. I'm going to buy a castiron set I found at Ikea on sale for $35.

As a sidenote: during the 80s I was traveling a LOT. I used to pack a small electric fondue pot (aluminum) to take with me. Although it would take awhile for anything to actually come to a boil, I could cook a variety of things in that pot.

People would stop by my room often to see what I'd have cooking. Armed with my fondue pot and an electric timer, I would always have something of a hot meal ready for me when I got back from a flight mission.

Ciao,