Mayo prep questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
What do makers of commercial mayo use to give it a long shelf life? Doesn't the citric acid in the lemon/lime juice help preserve the other ingredients?
Commercial mayonnaise uses a combination of potassium sorbate, phosphoric acid, and calcium disodium EDTA as a preservative.
Dangers of Calcium Disodium EDTA | LIVESTRONG.COM

I've been making homemade mayo for about 3 years now. In fact, I rarely buy the commercial stuff any longer, unless I'm making something that calls for a lot of mayo.

I use a stick blender to make mine, and it's unbelievably easy. I have no problem keeping it in the fridge longer than 2 days, but a week would be pushing it. I just try to use it up as quickly as possible.

Commercial mayonnaise uses a combination of potassium sorbate, phosphoric acid, and calcium disodium EDTA as a preservative.
Dangers of Calcium Disodium EDTA | LIVESTRONG.COM

I've been making homemade mayo for about 3 years now. In fact, I rarely buy the commercial stuff any longer, unless I'm making something that calls for a lot of mayo.

I use a stick blender to make mine, and it's unbelievably easy. I have no problem keeping it in the fridge longer than 2 days, but a week would be pushing it. I just try to use it up as quickly as possible.

Thanks for the info, Steve! After reading that list, I'm going to stick with homemade mayo from now on! I noticed that I used to have bad skin breakouts after eating Hellman's, but that doesn't happen when I make my own mayo:)

I asked the salesperson at Bed Bath about using plastic jars to make mayo and he said only if it's the same kind of hard plastic used to make the beakers that come with immersion blenders. He said if the plastic gets scratched by the blades bacteria, could more easily seep in to the plastic and contaminate it.