"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > Recipes & Ingredients > Sauces, Marinades, Rubs > Condiments

Old 10-25-2006, 03:35 PM   #1
Assistant Cook

Question Plochman's or French's? Which one should I buy?

Hey folks,

NooB here from nordic Europe. Just joined. Whenever I come to North America, which is like every 3 years or so, I never have enough space in my luggage to bring back loads of mild yellow mustard squeeze-barrels, lol. Last time I was in Toronto, I brought back 8 squeezers of a local supermarket's stuff, but didn't have enough space for more. You're wondering now why this crazy monkey can't just go to my local grocery store and get mild yellow mustard from here. Well, we have other yellow mustards, but not the type which makes a hot dog and sandwich so special as the typical North American mild yellow mustard does.

Anyways, I'm really missing the stuff. I like French's classic yellow. Now, while surfing, I've heard about Plochman's. (Never tasted it, though )

I was gonna buy a big box of Plochman's, like two dozen, and get my Austin, TX pal to airmail the "hamper" to me, but I wanted to ask you good folks here which of the brands you recommmend and why, before I make the purchase decision.

Cheers,
RS

Old 10-25-2006, 03:43 PM   #2
Certified Pretend Chef

Welcome, rollingstoe. If you have a friend who can send you stuff from the USA, can't you have him send you French's? Is it because of a price difference?

Old 10-25-2006, 03:46 PM   #3
Assistant Cook

Arrow

Hi Andy,

You're spot on, the price diff is the issue. I found this place online which sells the Plochman's at around 30% cheaper, per squeeze-barrel, than the French's.

/RS
Old 10-25-2006, 03:51 PM   #4
Certified Pretend Chef

I've never had Plochman's but I'm sure someone will be along before too long to offer an answer.
Old 10-25-2006, 03:56 PM   #5
Chief Eating Officer