Advice re: minimum liquid level for pressure cooker?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BJplusMilo21

Assistant Cook
Hello,

Because I'm a student I bought a pressure cooker to reduce costs. However, the instruction booklet of this 6 liter electric pressure tells me I need 5 cups of liquid in the pot, and this has become a problem i.e using 2 cups and 3 cups of water would cost $5 per meal and up to $10 in other recipes.

My question: Can I use less liquid then the pressure cooker recommends?

It should also be noted: That the multi cooker has a valve which can be opened when using the slow cooker setting (multiple settings) and requires a cup of liquid. So I was also wondering if by opening the valve for pressure cooking would this change the liquid requirement and if so would this change the cooking of the food?

I have little experience with newer models of pressure cookers. I think it would be best to follow the manufacturer's recommendations. To do otherwise may result in serious consequences. We all saw that a pressure cooker can produce very powerful explosions when used improperly. Granted, the pressure cookers used in the Boston bombing were not being used for cooking but equally dangerous pressures can build up in them if used improperly. I also believe that leaving the valve open would be counter productive to the whole concept of pressure cooking.
Perhaps someone else with more experience will pop in with better advice.

When it comes to pressure cooking, ALWAYS follow the manufacturers cooking instructions.

You shouldn't be using 5 cups of BBQ sauce in a pressure cooker.

I think you might be misunderstanding how to cook with it.

Pressure cookers don't necessarily reduce cost. They reduce cooking time.

You shouldn't be using 5 cups of BBQ sauce in a pressure cooker.

I think you might be misunderstanding how to cook with it.