"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Cookware and Accessories > Appliances
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-01-2008, 11:31 AM   #1
Senior Cook
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 350
Can a blender stand in for a food processor

I only have a blender, can I use it for this recipe Pesto Recipe - Nuts - MyRecipes.com or will it not turn out right?

__________________

__________________
crankin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2008, 11:37 AM   #2
Chef Extraordinaire
 
Uncle Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Small Town Mississippi
Posts: 17,392
It will work for your recipe...use the "pulse" function until you achieve desired consistency. Careful not to over blend.

Enjoy!
__________________

__________________
There is only one Quality worse than Hardness of Heart, and that is Softness of Head.

Kool-Aid...Think Before You Drink
Uncle Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2008, 12:22 PM   #3
Executive Chef
 
Corey123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: East Boston, MA.
Posts: 2,881
Quote:
Originally Posted by Uncle Bob View Post
It will work for your recipe...use the "pulse" function until you achieve desired consistency. Careful not to over blend.

Enjoy!


Yes your right!

Since a blender's motor and blades spin much faster, especially on high speeds (about 3,000 RPM or so), you could end up having mush, instead of finely chopped pieces,

Whereas the food processor's motor and blade spin slower (about 1,725 RPM or so).

Another possible tool to use might be the stick blender. In the supplied container or a bowl, THIS appliance might suffice well.
__________________
Corey123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2008, 12:28 PM   #4
Head Chef
 
JMediger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,178
We don't have a food processor either and as a result, make pesto all the time in our blender. Both Uncle Bob and Corey are right, if you over blend, you'll get a very smooth pesto - but still very tastey. If I want to use it as a spread or if I'm freezing it, I do blend it smooth - just personal preference.
__________________
JMediger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2008, 12:43 PM   #5
Master Chef
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,296
I use my blender often in place of the food processor.... the dang thing is heavy to lug out clean and put away. Where as the blender, I just dump in the dishwasher.
__________________
sattie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2008, 12:50 PM   #6
Chef Extraordinaire
 
kitchenelf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 19,725
Send a message via MSN to kitchenelf
As already mentioned just be careful. I will gladly pull out my food processor so I don't have to worry about the over-blending. I still dump everything into the dishwasher, just like people do their blender. No matter how careful, there's still some of whatever I am making that gets over-processed.
__________________
kitchenelf

"Count yourself...you ain't so many" - quote from Buck's Daddy
kitchenelf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2008, 08:47 PM   #7
Executive Chef
 
Corey123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: East Boston, MA.
Posts: 2,881
Quote:
Originally Posted by sattie View Post
I use my blender often in place of the food processor.... the dang thing is heavy to lug out clean and put away. Where as the blender, I just dump in the dishwasher.


I do the same thing with the parts from the food processor.

But I most often wash the parts by hand, towel dry them and put them back on the machine, since I keep it out in it's permenant spot.

And yes Sattie, they DO way a ton! Hence the spot to keep it in for convenience.
__________________
Corey123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2008, 08:47 PM   #8
Executive Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 3,270
I do my pesto in a mortar and pestle.
__________________
Too many restaurants, not enough time...
Bilby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2008, 08:57 PM   #9
Executive Chef
 
Corey123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: East Boston, MA.
Posts: 2,881
That's also a good thought also! I got one sitting on the kitchen table, and hardly use it.
__________________
Corey123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2008, 08:58 PM   #10
Executive Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 3,270
Much easier to clean too!! LOL
__________________

__________________
Too many restaurants, not enough time...
Bilby is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Discuss Cooking on Facebook

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.