"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Cookware and Accessories > Appliances
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-11-2017, 07:42 PM   #1
Assistant Cook
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Why?
Posts: 4
Arrow Can cheap pressure cookers (either stove-top or electric) reach 14.5 - 15 PSI?

Hi all,

I'm trying to sterilize some Rye grain for cultivation purposes but in order to do so, I need a pressure cooker. They range from about 20 upwards, but do the lower range models still reach at least 14.5 (PSI) pounds per square inch? From what I can gather, that is the industry standard in the UK, but I could be mistaken.

Heres a rough example of the type or pressure cooking I'm talking about:
https://www.amazon.co.uk/Morphy-Rich...ressure+cooker

Many thanks guys

__________________

__________________
PanCyanSam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2017, 04:15 AM   #2
Chef Extraordinaire
 
buckytom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: My mountain
Posts: 19,744
Just curious; is it for use with mushrooms?
__________________

__________________
The next time someone asks what you did this past weekend, squint really hard and say, "Why, what did you hear?"
buckytom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2017, 10:39 AM   #3
Certified Pretend Chef
 
Andy M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 42,863
One of the close-up photos shows the handle with an imprint of 80KPa (Kilopascals). That converts to 11.6 PSI. I assume that's the maximum PSI available for this model.
__________________
"If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe." -Carl Sagan
Andy M. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2017, 05:58 PM   #4
Assistant Cook
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Why?
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by buckytom View Post
Just curious; is it for use with mushrooms?
Yes sir, it is
__________________
PanCyanSam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2017, 06:02 PM   #5
Assistant Cook
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Why?
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy M. View Post
One of the close-up photos shows the handle with an imprint of 80KPa (Kilopascals). That converts to 11.6 PSI. I assume that's the maximum PSI available for this model.
Thanks Andy.

I don't think thats going to cut the mustard. Or can the lack of pressure be balanced with a longer cooking time? There really is no margin for error, either. The contents have to be FULLY sterile.
__________________
PanCyanSam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2017, 06:06 PM   #6
Assistant Cook
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Why?
Posts: 4
also...

the instructions were 90 minutes at 15 psi. I don't know if there's some kind of equation that can calculate this
__________________
PanCyanSam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2017, 06:29 PM   #7
Certified Pretend Chef
 
Andy M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 42,863
I have no clue. Sorry.
__________________

__________________
"If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe." -Carl Sagan
Andy M. is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cheap, cook, electric, pressure cooker, stove

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Discuss Cooking on Facebook


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.