Cleaning Radiant Cooktop?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Chef_Jimmy

Senior Cook
I have some burnt on stains on the eyes of my flat top range, it is beyond the cleaning compound and green scuffy pad. They are from liquid that over flowed and burnt under the pot. Unfortunately i didn't clean them right away and now i can't. I am scared to use steel wool. Have any of you had this problem and know how to clean it?

I don't know much about Mr. Clean's "Magic Eraser" but it seems to clean most anything of off everything. A thought to look into? Again, I've no knowledge of the products outside of commercials. T'would be worth looking in to I would suppose . . . . .

I use Softscrub on my glasstop stove. I just pour it on and let it sit for about 5 minutes if it's burnt on and then use a hot sponge with scrubber, not steel just the regular 2 sided sponges and wipe it off. Sometimes, I have to scrub a little,but, mine is over a year old and still looks brand new.

That Greased Lightening is a pretty good thing. Don't know how it would work on radiant. Might consult your manual. I would not use an abrasive. Just my opinion. Another thought is steam -- there are several steamers out there that will clean just about anything. Recently bought one that I plan on steaming i.e. clothing, mirrors, counter tops, oven etc. Better than using chemicals.

Last edited:
texasgirl said:
I use Softscrub on my glasstop stove. I just pour it on and let it sit for about 5 minutes if it's burnt on and then use a hot sponge with scrubber, not steel just the regular 2 sided sponges and wipe it off. Sometimes, I have to scrub a little,but, mine is over a year old and still looks brand new.
Wow! What a good idea! I've got a glass top too and can never get it clean. I hadn't thought of using Softscrub!! Thanks!!!