Crock-pot question: seal function?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Flavio

Assistant Cook
I have never used a crock pot before and I'm still waiting to get my Morphy Richards Flavour Savour slow cooker that I ordered this week.

This beauty combines three different functions: seal, fast stew and slow cook.

I'm not entirely sure how to use the seal function, though.

I believe it browns the meat before slow cooking, since you can't use raw meat in these pots.

But I also read somewhere that you should use it after slow cooking to make the outside of the food crisp and crunchy, whereas the inside remains soft and juicy.

How do I use it properly? Can I combine both techniques (before & after) in one single meal?

Do I have to seal other ingredients (e.g. fish, vegetables) or is it just meat?

Thanks in advance, guys! :)

Last edited:
I have no idea. I'm still using the slow cooker I received as a wedding present 30 years ago. It doesn't have a seal function :LOL:

Just be patient. Your slow cooker will come with instructions on how to use it, and probably recipes as well. And manufacturers often put user manuals online now, so you could do a search for your model to get reliable information.

Nice looking pot!

Wow, it just hit me. A manufacturer is saying in the name of its appliance function that browning meat seals it. I assume that means seals in the juices. Flavio, that theory has been disproved, just fyi.

Nice looking pot!

Wow, it just hit me. A manufacturer is saying in the name of its appliance function that browning meat seals it. I assume that means seals in the juices. Flavio, that theory has been disproved, just fyi.