Do you use the inner bowl or separate bowl to wash rice?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

anticuchos

Assistant Cook
Do you use the inner bowl that comes with the rice cooker or a seperate plastic bowl to wash rice?

I have the Presto Options Multi Cooker which can also be used to cook rice.

And I only wash Carolina or River rice. Not Uncle Ben's or similar par-boiled rice.

~Corey123.

That does not really answer the posters question though Corey.

What bowl do you use to wash the rice when you do wash it? The bowl that came with it or a different bowl?

anticuchos, I do not think it really matters much, but I have only used a rice cooker once or twice so I am not the best person to answer this. I really do not think it would matter though.

I wash it right in the aluminium pot that goes inside the rice cooker, and I have been doing it that way for about 25 years, so I guess it works okay or I probably would have stopped by now. :rolleyes:

GB said:
That does not really answer the posters question though Corey.

What bowl do you use to wash the rice when you do wash it? The bowl that came with it or a different bowl?

anticuchos, I do not think it really matters much, but I have only used a rice cooker once or twice so I am not the best person to answer this. I really do not think it would matter though.

I've really only used the cooker once for rice, and that was about a few years ago. So a rice cooker is not something that I'd use on a daily basis. It's not healthy for diabetics, you know.

But it's usually the pot that I'm about to cook the rice in on the stove. Three or more times until the water is almost clear.

This is also a good practice for diabetics such as myself because it helps get rid of all that excess starch. And I usually cook no more than about a cup of rice - which is what 1/2 a cup of raw rice comes to with the water (1 cup).