"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Cookware and Accessories > Appliances

Old 03-07-2012, 07:08 AM   #1
Head Chef

Hold on to your socks! My newest toy!

WOOT! After researching and taking notes for six months I finally pulled the trigger on a new vacuum sealer. And NOOOOOO, it ain't no foodsaver! As you all probably know I'm a chef by trade and an all-around kitchen geek. Clamp style sealers are very inexpensive and do a good job on many things but don't work so well to seal liquids. And since I do a lot of sous vide cooking I like to be able to cook in a liquid. This requires a chamber vacuum sealer.

Enter the VacMaster VP215! It's a chamber vac with a rotary oil pump. It pulls almost 30" of vacuum! Here's a few pics!

Here's one of the main reasons I bought it over other similar machines: The ability to seal retort pouches!

You may think you don't know what a "retort pouch" is, but you may have on in your pantry right now. They're the pouches you buy your tuna in. They were developed for the military for MREs.

With this machine I can now easily seal liquids like chili, marinara sauce, gravy, soup, etc. And the retort pouches will let me can stuff in "flexible cans" that are just like a Ball Jar but not breakable.

Very cool!

Old 03-07-2012, 07:28 AM   #2
Head Chef

Thank you for explaining about the pouches. Up to that point in your post a huge "HUH?" was forming in my mind. What a dandy new toy for you! And I learned a new meaning for some old words. Plus yesterday I learned what a poolish is. Wonders never cease.

Old 03-07-2012, 07:33 AM   #3
Head Chef

Hahaha! I bet you thought my pouches were adept at making witty comments! :-) I get what you're saying- there's a lot of jargon that can be hard to follow.