"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Cookware and Accessories > Appliances
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-23-2012, 09:54 AM   #41
Certified Pretend Chef
 
Andy M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 41,393
Frank, thanks for posting. What the article says is valid. However, wattage/horsepower ratings for like tools is still a valid comparison method. 746 watts may not deliver an actual 1 HP but that would be true for all mixers of the same type. Thus, comparing wattages is a reasonable way to determine relative power.

That said, as I have recently learned from personal experience, you're better off paying attention to the load you put on the motor AND GEARS. So if the instructions say max. 6 kg.(or whatever) I go with that.
__________________

__________________
"If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe." -Carl Sagan
Andy M. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 10:14 AM   #42
Chef Extraordinaire
 
taxlady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: near Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 18,893
Send a message via Skype™ to taxlady
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrankZ View Post
This is an interesting read regarding single phase A/C electric motors. It is geared towards power tools, but it is still applicable.
Thanks for the link Frank, interesting article.
__________________

__________________
May you live as long as you wish and love as long as you live.
Robert A. Heinlein
taxlady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 11:24 AM   #43
Chef Extraordinaire
 
CWS4322's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Rural Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 12,324
Quote:
Originally Posted by bakechef View Post
I've used that mixer in a vocational cooking school, it was awesome, seemed unstoppable! We also had a 5 qt. kitchenaid and it was a good machine, but not nearly as sturdy and robust as the Hobart.
Hobart equipment was what my parents had in their restaurant. I covet having a hobart commercial stand mixer...
__________________
I've got OCD--Obsessive Chicken Disorder!
http://www.discusscooking.com/forums...les-76125.html
CWS4322 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 11:34 AM   #44
Master Chef
 
CharlieD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA,Minnesota
Posts: 8,401
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bolledeig View Post
Will do, CharlieD! :)
___________________________________

I read pretty poor reviews on the Kenwood-posers, so that's a no go.

On the other hand, I now see the KA commercial has 990W. I was just a little confused there by all the places saying 500W. Turns out that was a gov UL test deal, and 990W are the real peak wattage.
Almost $800 though..

gadzooks: wooow! I've never been to a thrift store yet. Maybe it's time to start :D
What model is it? I mean what is number? I spent some time yeterday looking around what's available after reading this thread. But I did not see the KA model that was 990W. Would be interesting to find out.
__________________
You are what you eat.
CharlieD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 12:33 PM   #45
Master Chef
 
FrankZ's Avatar
Site Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Chesapeake Bay
Posts: 9,633
Quote:
Originally Posted by CharlieD View Post
What model is it? I mean what is number? I spent some time yeterday looking around what's available after reading this thread. But I did not see the KA model that was 990W. Would be interesting to find out.
Charlie:

KitchenAidŽ: Welcome to KitchenAid.com

One thing that is interesting. From the article above, if this mixer is truly 1.3HP then it is pushing the limits of a 15A circut. If your house wiring is not completely up to snuff (sizing and quality) you might find that putting some load on it might (should) trip the breaker. Then it is downstairs to the back corner of the basement to crawl over the stuff piled up to get to the breaker panel (not that anyone would be so unsafe as to pile things in front of their breaker panel).
__________________
"First you start with a pound of bologna..."
-My Grandmother on how to make ham salad.
FrankZ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 12:39 PM   #46
Senior Cook
 
Bolledeig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 138
Yeap, the KSM7990WH.
I wonder if I could still use all the attatchments out there with that one..
Would be crazy if not.

It's a relatively new model I believe.
__________________
Bolledeig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 01:00 PM   #47
Executive Chef
 
justplainbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Eastern Long Island, New York
Posts: 4,206
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bolledeig View Post
Yeap, the KSM7990WH.
I wonder if I could still use all the attatchments out there with that one..
Would be crazy if not.

It's a relatively new model I believe.
KA's spec sheet says it accommodates the existing residential as well as the to be released commercial accessories(Fits all current KitchenAidŽ attachments and future larger capacity commercial style attachments).
Since they describe it as having a DC motor it may be what's known as a universal motor ( 0 to 60 cycles). Be interesting to see if the parts list includes motor brushes.
__________________
justplainbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 01:10 PM   #48
Master Chef
 
FrankZ's Avatar
Site Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Chesapeake Bay
Posts: 9,633
I missed seeing it say it is a DC motor. Where did you find that?
__________________
"First you start with a pound of bologna..."
-My Grandmother on how to make ham salad.
FrankZ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 02:53 PM   #49
Cook
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Central New York
Posts: 50
After a "watt" has been given to the marketing department they are folded and mutilated to the point where they are unrecognizable by engineers. When you connect a Professional 600 KitchenAid to a watt meter, it will typically run at 250 to 275 watts depending on load. I am pretty sure that most other kitchen appliance marketing agents failed the same engineering courses and are exaggerating just as much about the "PEAK" wattage that their machines attain.

Williams Sonoma has had an exclusive on the home version of KA's new 7 quart mixer since last July. It is a totally new design and not based on the Professional 600 platform. It has been getting good reviews and has been selling for $550.00 before rebates and incentives.
__________________
Jim
Weights of Baking Ingredients
jim262 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2012, 03:01 PM   #50
Executive Chef
 
justplainbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Eastern Long Island, New York
Posts: 4,206
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrankZ View Post
I missed seeing it say it is a DC motor. Where did you find that?
See-
http://www.webstaurantstore.com/specsheets/KSM7990.pdf
__________________

__________________
justplainbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ka beaters, mixer

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Discuss Cooking on Facebook

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.