If you had $500...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Mrs. Cuillo

Sous Chef
As some of you know, I am new to the cooking world and I am very limited to what I have to cook with. Without going into a long story, I am going to have $500.00 to spend on cooking essentials. What are some things that y'all use pretty regularly that would be useful for me as well? I live in an apartment if that makes any difference. Here's a list of the things that I already have:

knives
measuring spoons/cups
griddle
non stick pots and pans
1 8x11.5" baking dish
GF grill
round cake pans
bread pans
muffin tins
1 cookie sheet
cooling rack
hand mixer
spatulas
wooden spoons
small cutting board
1 of each large and small glass mixing bowls
whisks
plastic stirring spoons (some are slotted, some aren't)
Better Homes and Garden cookbook
colander
toaster oven

I believe that is everything . If not, I will post what I forgot. Can't wait to see what I get to buy!!:chef:

Anything you can find made out of silpat!
Maybe some cast iron skillets?
A few really excellent knives (you don't need a whole set).

13x9 casserole dish
a big stock pot
food processor
blender
mandoline (I love these)
Kitchen Aid mixer
hand mixer
I'll think of more. :)

Last edited:
Not necessarily in order:

A good cast-iron skillet
Cast-iron or Le Creuset Dutch oven
Microplane grater
2-quart glass mixing/measuring/batter bowl (I have 3 and use them all the time.)
Good, thick potholders
Electronic probe thermometer
Instant-read thermometer
Hi-temp silicone scrapers and spatulas
Electronic kitchen scale (Salter makes the 11-pound capacity one I use. Best deal I've seen anywhere is at CutleryAndMore.com: Wusthof Knives, All Clad Cookware, Henckels Cutlery, Calphalon, Le Creuset, John Boos & More.)

All the items I listed above I use on an almost daily basis and I don't cook for a crowd. It's just Buck and me.