Looking at buying a 48" Range

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

lexie

Assistant Cook
Hi,
I have been researching 48" ranges and have narrowed it down to the Wolf 4 burner with griddle dual fuel or the Dacor with 6 burners and dual fuel. Any thoughts..pros and cons. I will also put in a single oven which I am considering the Miele master chef series. Any thoughts on this would be appreciated. We looked at the DCS range as well as the Thermador.

Any thoughts? Yes, I think I'm jealous! I've been wanting to upgrade to even a 36" range, but my kitchen barely fits what we have.

Unfortunately, I have no real knowledge of the subject so can't be helpful. But I'm happy for you. :)

Love the extra two burners on the Dacor

To me the big advantage of the Dacor 48" is the 6 burners. I think that they offer much more flexibility than the center griddle. If I wish to griddle, I can easily put one on top of the burners, but I couldn't convert the griddle to extra burners if needed. Once you start using 6 burners, especially if you regularly cook multi-course meals--you'll wonder how you ever managed with only four.

Thanks for the input. I was having similar thoughts even though some 48" ranges do 8 burners with no griddle option which is probably overkill. I think Wolf does that only on their gas only range and it's not an option on the dual fuel. One other point on the Dacor is that there broil system on the new ovens is as close to an infrared grill as you can get without having a gas oven. That was definitely intriguing!

The Dacor oven is very nice. It heats up fast and the heat seems consistent throughout the oven. Also, I'm not a stickler for keeping the inside of the oven clean, but their design is pretty good. The heating element is under glass so it's easy to clean the bottom of the oven if anything spills. (Actually, in my case, I should say, "when" things spill!)