Looking for commercial applicance with "no frying" for fries

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

krhunter

Assistant Cook
Hi! I'm new to the forum. I am looking for recommendations on applicances that could be used to cook french fries that taste as good as fried but are cooked in a healthier way. Is there such an appliance that makes the food taste great and is really fast? I am considering starting a business that would be able to be a side walk vendor type (or a drive to the workplace site) and offering fast, fresh food that tastes great but isn't fried and I would like to include french fries. Any suggestions?

Good morning, and welcome, krh.

I am no expert on what you are asking, but hang on.
As people wake and log on, I'm sure you'll get plenty of feedback.

As far as fries go though, it's my understanding, from watching food shows, they dip potatoes in very high heat fryer to "seal" the potato, raise it out, then dip it again to "cook" the inside. This keeps them "healthy" because the oil isn't absorbed into the potato.
Another tip is, they don't put so many in at a time, so
as to NOT lower the temp of the oil too much.

I make sweet potato fries on the stove, in cast iron skillet, with about an inch of peanut oil, on as high a heat as my electric stove gets, and make sure the outside of the potato is DRY before putting in oil, so they don't splatter. I do batches, and then remove them to cookie sheet, to a warm oven, til all are done, kosher salting as they come out.

Good luck with your quest.