"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Cookware and Accessories > Appliances
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-19-2019, 10:41 PM   #1
Sous Chef
 
pepperhead212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Woodbury, NJ
Posts: 672
My KA burned out. That was expensive bread!

Not really, because it was over 19 years old, so it really didn't owe me anything!

I disassembled it, after watching some YouTube videos, that explained some of the possible problems with a "burnout". I bypassed the circuit board, and directly hooked the motor up, and plugged it in, and no motion. The top brush is plenty large, so it wasn't those. Strange thing is that I would always set my hand on the motor frequently, to monitor the heat, and it wasn't that bad this time - I've had it worse.

I'll have to think about whether I want to repair this, or replace it, with something better. Something with a safety thermal shut-off, for sure!

Funny thing - I gave my old 4 1/2 qt KA, tilt mixer, to a friend and his newlywed, so that I could get a larger one, in late 1999. That one is still running, and I got that in 1976! I called him up (in FL now), and after the formalities I asked him if the mixer was still working. After a pause, he goes "Noooooooo!" And busted out laughing. He knew that I was going to tell him that mine bit the dust!

__________________

__________________
Dave
pepperhead212 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2019, 11:11 PM   #2
Cook
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Petaluma, California
Posts: 81
Check the motor for a thermofuse. It may be blown.

It should be inline with one of the motor wires.
__________________

Markf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2019, 11:35 PM   #3
Sous Chef
 
pepperhead212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Woodbury, NJ
Posts: 672
I was hoping that it was something like that, but the videos on YouTube, and the online references I found for KA Pro6 said that, unfortunately, these don't have a thermofuse, or other safety shutoff - the motors blow, or items on the circuit board blow. I was hoping it was the circuit board, as that is cheaper, or the switch (which I doubted would be it, but that would have been cheapest). I'll look at it some more tomorrow, but there was nothing visible, even after the circuit board was removed.
__________________
Dave
pepperhead212 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2019, 05:01 AM   #4
Master Chef
 
CraigC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,162
Diagnosing electrical issues without a multimeter is a waste of time, IMO.
__________________
Emeralds are real Gems! C. caninus and C. batesii.
CraigC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2019, 11:00 AM   #5
Sous Chef
 
pepperhead212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Woodbury, NJ
Posts: 672
Quote:
Originally Posted by CraigC View Post
Diagnosing electrical issues without a multimeter is a waste of time, IMO.
I have a number of multimeters, and a couple of those YouTube videos showed what to check. But also to check the motor first, before starting to look at the circuit board and switch.
__________________
Dave
pepperhead212 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2019, 03:10 PM   #6
Head Chef
 
skilletlicker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 1,487
For quite a while the common KA complaint I remember was a particular plastic gear. That's all I remember though. Scanned 40 pages of DC search results going back to '02. Might be a clue in that pile. Ought to be a lot fewer results if you are handier with the keywords.
__________________
"'Eat food, not too much, mostly plants." - Michael Pollan

Old bachelor cook
skilletlicker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2019, 03:41 PM   #7
Master Chef
 
CharlieD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: USA,Minnesota
Posts: 9,316
KA is really not meant for bread.
__________________
You are what you eat.
CharlieD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2019, 04:50 PM   #8
Certified Pretend Chef
 
Andy M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 45,294
Quote:
Originally Posted by CharlieD View Post
KA is really not meant for bread.
Charlie, I disagree. KA is fine with any dough as long as quantity is not too much. You can overload any mixer.
__________________
"If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe." -Carl Sagan
Andy M. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2019, 04:52 PM   #9
Certified Pretend Chef
 
Andy M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 45,294
Quote:
Originally Posted by skilletlicker View Post
For quite a while the common KA complaint I remember was a particular plastic gear. That's all I remember though. Scanned 40 pages of DC search results going back to '02. Might be a clue in that pile. Ought to be a lot fewer results if you are handier with the keywords.
My KA has one of those plastic gears and it broke when I overloaded the bowl. The repair guy was clear when he scolded me. "Too much dough break machine."
__________________
"If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe." -Carl Sagan
Andy M. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2019, 08:31 PM   #10
Executive Chef
 
Roll_Bones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Southeast US
Posts: 4,054
Replace the mixer. Be safe.
__________________

Roll_Bones is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Discuss Cooking on Facebook


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.