"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Cookware and Accessories > Appliances
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-04-2005, 11:51 AM   #1
Executive Chef
 
AllenOK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA, Oklahoma
Posts: 3,463
Unhappy My KA5 mixer died!

As I was mixing the batter for my Banana Oatmeal Crumb Cake, my mixer just stopped! At first, I thought maybe the old breakers in the house had tripped, but, we have the screw-in type fuses. I plugged my coffee maker into the same outlet, and it worked. There's no breaker on the kitchen outlets between the two plugs, so it didn't need to be reset. I put my hand on the motor housing, and it wasn't hot. After a few minutes, I moved the mixer over to another outlet, plugged it in, and it worked! I moved it back to where I had it, and it worked as well, for about 5 minutes. Luckily, I was able to get all my creaming done for the cake batter before the mixer bit the dust. I finished mixing the batter by hand.

I'm thinking it's just a short or loose wire. Hopefully, it's easily fixed, as I don't want to flip out $$$$$$ for a new mixer right now. I may have to get one of those little handheld jobbies

__________________

__________________
Peace, Love, and Vegetable Rights!
Eat Meat and Save the Plants!
AllenOK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2005, 12:41 PM   #2
 
choclatechef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,680
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllenMI
As I was mixing the batter for my Banana Oatmeal Crumb Cake, my mixer just stopped! At first, I thought maybe the old breakers in the house had tripped, but, we have the screw-in type fuses. I plugged my coffee maker into the same outlet, and it worked. There's no breaker on the kitchen outlets between the two plugs, so it didn't need to be reset. I put my hand on the motor housing, and it wasn't hot. After a few minutes, I moved the mixer over to another outlet, plugged it in, and it worked! I moved it back to where I had it, and it worked as well, for about 5 minutes. Luckily, I was able to get all my creaming done for the cake batter before the mixer bit the dust. I finished mixing the batter by hand.

I'm thinking it's just a short or loose wire. Hopefully, it's easily fixed, as I don't want to flip out $$$$$$ for a new mixer right now. I may have to get one of those little handheld jobbies
Oh Allen!!!! My heart is bleeding for you. Don't buy a new mixer.

Walk, don't run to your nearest Hobart dealer. They can fix your mixer. http://www.hobartcorp.com/hobartg5/c...t-us_locate-es

Don't bury your mixer before you know it is dead, but if you decide to replace it....send me the dead carcass.
__________________

__________________
choclatechef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2005, 06:37 AM   #3
Cook
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 53
A problem like you described can usually be fixed for around $80.00, which is considerably less than what you would pay for a new KitchenAid mixer. Follow Chocolatechef's recommendations, and service the machine. They will go over the unit thoroughly. Also, while you're there, take a look at some of the used food service Hobarts they may have there. I am sure you'll be in for a treat!

MrCoffe

(Gosh, if I only could have had the cash for that A-120)
__________________
MrCoffee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2005, 09:38 PM   #4
Master Chef
 
Michael in FtW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 6,592
Allen - KA mixers have a built-in "overload" circuit breaker. If your mixing something and the mixer stops, you turn it off and allow it to sit for a few minutes, and turn it back on and it works - that was the problem. After the mixer sits for a while the circuit breaker automatically resets itself. Don't know what what your recipe was but it sure sounds like that was your problem.

If you bought your KA new, it could be that the circuit breaker was just "weak" to begin with. If you bought it used ... it could be that the previous owner was trying to mix some heavy loads and tripped the breaker a few times, which weakens it and causes it to trip at lower than normal stress levels.

I would agree - get it repaired instead of tossing it out.
__________________
"It ain't what you don't know that gets you in trouble. It's what you know for sure that just ain't so." - Mark Twain
Michael in FtW is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Discuss Cooking on Facebook

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.