Pressure Cooker Question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Mark J

Assistant Cook
I have been considering buying a pressure cooker for a long while. I see there are two basic types: stove top and electric. If someone can outline the advantages and disadvantages to each style I would greatly appreciate it.

Take care,

Mark J.

Never had an electric one, Mark. I've always had stovetop ones. One of the advantages of the stovetop ones is that the pot can be used for other non-pressure cooking purposes. I like to use things for more than a single purpose. For 30 years I used a Revere Ware pressure cooker. I mourned its demise. Nothing wrong with it. I just couldn't get replacement gaskets, etc. Now I have a Kuhn Rikon one I love. I've been pressure-cooking food for almost 50 years and just like the stovetop method. That's just my opinion. No doubt you will get many more comments. Just be patient.

Last edited:
I've used both, and can certainly appreciate Katie E.'s comment about multiple uses. Last time I moved (and downsized possessions), I got rid of my stove-top pressure cooker, and just kept the smaller electric one (Revere Ware - they no longer make it). It's a wonderful item, and I love using it because it is so easy. Takes all the guesswork out of the process. But...I will never be able to get replacement parts when I need a new gasket, etc., so may end up buying another stove-top model eventually.

I am an old man that has been cooking and using a stove top pressure cooker for years,
but I have never have even heard of a eletric pressure cooker, what company`s make
them? and how much is the price range? You would think I would have some time in my
life seen an advertisement of them or maybe seen them at sears or wal mart. that sure
blows my mind.