Ranges: your ideas

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Leon

Assistant Cook
Hey everyone,

I'm currently a student at the University of Cincinnati, and I'm working on a project that concerns kitchen appliances. One specific area we're looking into is the users' experiences with ranges. What I'm looking for are ideas of how to improve the range from a user's viewpoint. What features would you like to see? Is there something already out there, but you think it needs to be improved? What annoyances do you find with your range?

I'd really appreciate any feedback at all. If you would, please state what kind of oven/stove you have, how old the appliance is, and any other important information like that. Again, thanks for your help in advance!

I'd love to see a built-in probe that would be used to control oil temperature for stove-top deep frying, or perhaps, stove-top Sous Vide. Could also aid in making perfect rice as well.

There are some iterations of this out there, but I would love to see the units on the stovetop to be spaced a nice distance apart. Even though there are only two of us here, I still use our VERY large pots and kettles and it's a real bother to have them cheek-to-cheek.

We have a Whirlpool gas cooktop that is about 5 or 6 years old. Our oven is Whirlpool, too, but electric because we prefer to have gas for stovetop and electric for the oven. Love the oven. The only change we would make would to have a larger interior. Otherwise, we're okey-dokey.

Katie E said:
T I would love to see the units on the stovetop to be spaced a nice distance apart. Even though there are only two of us here, I still use our VERY large pots and kettles and it's a real bother to have them cheek-to-cheek.