"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Cookware and Accessories > Appliances

Old 08-15-2013, 09:53 AM   #1
Executive Chef

Self-Cleaning Gas Oven

This is my first time with a self-cleaning oven. I would like to know about other's experiences. I am afraid of having the oven going at such a high heat. My friend won't use her "self clean" feature because the one time she tried it, it set off the smoke detector. She cleans it by hand. I don't want to do that. I want to be not afraid to use the self clean feature.

Old 08-15-2013, 10:05 AM   #2
Certified Pretend Chef

I have a self-cleaning gas oven and have been self cleaning it for 13 years.

If the self cleaning cycle sets off the smoke detectors, it's because the oven really needed cleaning.

These ovens are made for the high heat. The temp goes up around 900 F to burn off all the spills etc and turn them to ash which wipes out with a damp cloth. If there are a lot of spills, there will be smoke. Open the windows and go for it.

If you leave the shelves in the oven, they will not be shiny bright any more but they will be cleaned.

Follow the instructions in the manual.

Old 08-15-2013, 10:20 AM   #3
Executive Chef

Thanks! A couple days ago I cooked chicken in it and I left it in too long and there is chicken grease spattered all over the oven. I think I will try cleaning the shelves by hand before I try the self cleaning. I would rather not dull the finish on the shelves since this is a new appliance. Want to keep it shining as long as I can!

Today is a cool day, so we have the windows open anyway. How long does the self clean cycle take?
Old 08-15-2013, 10:29 AM   #4
Certified Pretend Chef

My oven has a default setting of 4 hours but it can be set to longer if the oven is really dirty. A little grease splatter from a chicken isn't very much. I have had a banana bread spill over and fall into the oven.