"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Cookware and Accessories > Appliances
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-24-2013, 07:32 AM   #1
Assistant Cook
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 13
Thermometer instruction?

The instructions that I received with the thermometer tells me not to put it in water, so how would one clean it?

could it simply be telling me not to put it in hot water or that putting in water will screw the results while testing the meat?

Note: it is not a digital one.

__________________

__________________
BJplusMilo21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 07:57 AM   #2
Chef Extraordinaire
 
Addie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: East Boston, MA
Posts: 19,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by BJplusMilo21 View Post
The instructions that I received with the thermometer tells me not to put it in water, so how would one clean it?

could it simply be telling me not to put it in hot water or that putting in water will screw the results while testing the meat?

Note: it is not a digital one.
Just wipe the probe with a clean wet cloth or sponge. You will often see chefs test a piece of meat, wipe it off with his towel and them put it back in his pocket. You really DON'T want to put it in water. It will screw it up.
__________________

__________________
Illegitimi non carborundum!
I don't want my last words to be, "I wish I had spent more time doing housework"
Addie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 08:12 AM   #3
Assistant Cook
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Addie View Post
Just wipe the probe with a clean wet cloth or sponge. You will often see chefs test a piece of meat, wipe it off with his towel and them put it back in his pocket. You really DON'T want to put it in water. It will screw it up.
That's strange when most meat is made of water or is moist.
__________________
BJplusMilo21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 08:17 AM   #4
Executive Chef
 
bakechef's Avatar
Site Moderator
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,082
The probe in water is no problem, but the top where the dial is, is not waterproof. Working in food service, if the thermometer is left in the sink, water seeps in.

The most accurate way to calibrate a thermometer is in ice water (using boiling water isn't accurate, because water boils at different temperatures depending on elevation, but 32 degrees is always 32 degrees.)
__________________
I'm Bloggin'

http://bakingbetter.com
bakechef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 08:20 AM   #5
Chef Extraordinaire
 
Addie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: East Boston, MA
Posts: 19,044
The probe is not the problem. It is where the numbers are. It is not a digital. Thus inside is a spring that responds to the temp of the food and can rust very easily. You can't put digital ones in water either.
__________________
Illegitimi non carborundum!
I don't want my last words to be, "I wish I had spent more time doing housework"
Addie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 09:37 AM   #6
Chef Extraordinaire
 
taxlady's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: near Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 18,882
Send a message via Skype™ to taxlady
Most of the thermometers I have bought say not to submerge in water. As Addie wrote, just wipe it with a clean, damp cloth. I was lucky to get one for candy and deep frying that is dishwasher safe.

If necessary, you can rub it with dry baking soda and a very slightly damp cloth to remove gunk or stains and then rinse the probe.
__________________
May you live as long as you wish and love as long as you live.
Robert A. Heinlein
taxlady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 09:54 AM   #7
Certified Pretend Chef
 
Andy M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 41,377
You can wash and rinse the probe part of the thermometer. Keep the top part dry. I've been washing dial and digital thermometers that way for years. I use a soapy sponge to wash the probe then rinse it under running water. Dry and store.
__________________
"If you want to make an apple pie from scratch, you must first create the universe." -Carl Sagan
Andy M. is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 10:19 AM   #8
Head Chef
 
RPCookin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Logan County, Colorado
Posts: 2,046
Like everyone else says, just don't immerse it in water. Washing the probe is okay.
__________________

__________________
Rick
RPCookin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Discuss Cooking on Facebook

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.