Vacuum Sealers?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Sephora

Washing Up
Does anyone own one and use it? I throw so much away and a neighbor has one and swears by it for saving things like cheese and freezing meat. Do you have to buy an expensive one or is the $40 Seal a Meal from GE good enough?

Sephora, you can get the $40 one, but eventually you'll regret it. I've been using the FoodSaver Pro II for about 10 years now. I recently replaced the seals for $1 and it works like new. If you go to www.foodsaver.com they have three different models on sale for less than $100 [quite a bit less]. If something goes wrong with their machine, they will repair or replace at their option. They no longer make the Pro II, but have replaced it with the Pro III for about $300. They are worth every penny you pay, ask anyone that owns one.

The nice thing about them is that you can package leftovers and when you want to use them, you plunk the frozen bag into some boiling/simmering water and the food gently heats, cut the bag open, dump the stuff out, wash the bag and use it again.

I don't own one, but have thought about it - mainly for lettuce and salad. Recently I saw one on one of the shopping channels (don't recall the price or brand - it was the Special of the Day), where you could dry seal or wet seal. i.e. If you wanted to pour a marinade in with chicken etc. - it takes 20 mins; or if you wanted to seal anything with a sauce, pasta, etc. I'm still contemplating if I should go for it.

Edited to add: The wet seal also appealed to me, because you can seal up a (pasta) salad with the dressing and take it with you.

Last edited:
Sephora, the brand may have been Rival.

Btw, your kitty looks like she needs some help getting out of the litterbox :LOL: Cute avatar.