Who juices (vegetables)?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MostlyWater

Sous Chef
I gave away a juicer years ago since it was hard to clean; I am toying with the idea of juicing veggies as I know it's healthy; however haven't drunk juiced beets or spinach and am really a beginner here. (I have juiced carrots, though and liked it.)

So - what juicer do you like,and how easy is it to keep clean? Thanks !

I use a juicer and love it, but it is a pain to clean, as they all are. Its the price I pay for being healthy. If you are truly serious about juicing then you get a masticating one or even a steamer, but they are expensive.

We had a juicer many years ago, and ditched it for the same reason you did. Not sure if the technology has improved and they made them easier to keep clean. The only thing i juice now is apples. I bought myself and old fashioned apple cider press, which is even more of a pain in the butt to clean than the juicer. But, its the type of thing we use once or twice a year after going apple picking, so its more of a novelty than anything else/

Imho, juicing is such a good idea, and so good for the body that the benefits far outweigh the difficulty of cleaning. Besides, if you clean it right away, it really takes very little time. Just don't let the detritus dry inside the juicer.

I regularly juice equal parts of carrot, celery, parsley and spinach. I cannot imagine drinking spinach juice alone (very bitter) or carrot juice alone (faaar too sweet for me). However, this combination is really good as a general juice, and it tastes good (altho it's a weird color). That is to say, you are not juicing to rid yourself of a specific ailment.

Important to note that good juicers are expensive. Those little Juiceman Jr's are not worth the material they're made of.