"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Cooking Resources > Cookbooks, Software etc.

Old 12-31-2006, 06:25 PM   #1
Assistant Cook

Best General, All-Purpose Cookbook?

What is the best general cookbook for a relatively inexperienced, non-gourmet home cook? I'm a home cook with a pretty good cookbook collection, but what's missing is one big all-purpose book for general recipes (most of my cookbooks are specialty cookbooks, e.g., Asian cooking, light cooking). Various friends and family members have recommended Betty Crocker, Better Homes and Gardens, America's Test Kitchen, and the Taste of Home, but obviously I can't buy them all, so I thought I'd ask here. Which of these do you rely on or is known to be the best? Or do you use something different? Thanks in advance!

Old 12-31-2006, 06:30 PM   #2
Head Chef

What you want sadly does not exist, and quite frankly I don't believe it could.

Would go with the Joy of Cooking.

It has its limitations, as do all cookbooks. But for an all around reference it is purty darn good.

Old 12-31-2006, 06:39 PM   #3
Executive Chef

another vote for any printing of Joy of Cooking
Old 12-31-2006, 06:43 PM   #4
Cook

You might go to a bookstore and take a look at Mark Bittman's How to Cook Everthing. We also have Joy of Cooking, Good Housekeeping, McCalls (our first cookbook), Fanny Farmer, the Settlement Cookbook and about 100 other hard cover cookbooks, but Bittman's is the one we reach for first these days.
Old 12-31-2006, 06:43 PM   #5
Sous Chef

I use The Joy of Cooking and Betty Crocker

appletart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2006, 07:38 PM   #6
Master Chef