Classic Japanese Cookbooks?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

NickeeCoco

Senior Cook
Ok. First things first. I'm a home cook with no formal training, though I do have friends who are chefs and I have gleaned tips and techniques from them over the years. I'd like to think of myself as an advanced home cook, as I'm not deterred by complicated or advanced techniques, and use recipes that require that sort of thing regularly.

So, most of my cooking has been European. What I'd like to start learning about (and experimenting [! one of my favourite things] in the kitchen) is Japanese cooking. Apart from marinating tofu, and making miso soup I don't really know much about cooking this style of food. I'm looking for an informative Japanese cookbook that will not only teach me the basics of the cuisine, but lead me to advanced recipes as well. Something that deals with classic Japanese dishes. Not fusion. Not modern. Just something that is the equivalent of Le Cordon Bleu Complete Cook, but for Japanese cuisine, not French. I'm not afraid to get messy and debone things, butcher things (I recently went to a five course dinner where a butcher taught us how to butcher a pig as we ate), etc.

What I look for in a cookbook:

1. Pictures of every dish.
  2. Glossary of terms.
  3. Technique appendix with picture steps.

My favourite cookbooks (as in the ones with the most dog ears, splashes and broken spines) so you have an idea of the types of things I like:

1. Le Cordon Bleu Complete Cook - eds. Kim Rowney, Jane Price
  2. The New Regional Italian Cookbook - Reinhardt Hess, Cornelia Schinharl, Sabine Salzer
  3. The Philospher's Kitchen: Recipes from Ancient Greece and Rome for the Modern Cook - Francine Segan
  4. The Opera Lover's Cookbook - Francine Segan
  5. Entertaining with Wine: A Cookbook for Wine Lovers - Ruth Ellen Church