Cooking magazines

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Funny thing cookieee - I was just thinking of starting a thread to as if there are any other Milk Street fans out there!

I have subscribed to MS since they started, and I really like it. A friend who started it at the same time didn't renew - she didn't like the fact that "many, if not most" of the recipes called for ingredients that she didn't have. I can see her point, but that is probably one of the things that I like about it - most of the recipes are international recipes, which are the types of things I cook all the time. Often there are simpler recipes, as with desserts, but they are still different and unique, and sometimes interesting tips on cooking methods, as Kimble did on ATK.

I have a digital subscription, and one of the things that I get are frequent recipes in email, with the first one or two "free", to those with no subscription. Sometimes I have posted the link to forums when it looks really good - only free for 2 weeks, but if it looks good to anyone they can copy it.

Other magazines I haven't subscribed to in recent years, except when I'd get them free or almost free with a purchase. You have to be careful with those - go into your account right away, and turn off the automatic resubscription.

I used to like Cooks Illustrated, but after many years, recipes seemed to be more or less the same thing, sometimes complicated even more, to get the so called "perfect" recipe. I got a free subscription a couple of years ago, and liked it better - they seemed to have changed for the better, and I was seeing more interesting tips.