How Do You Store/Save Your Recipes?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Callisto in NC

Washing Up
I have started a little notebook where, if I print out a recipe, I put it in the book and then put a picture on the facing page. I know it will be big when I finish it, but I figured it would be something my daughter could look at in years to come.

Do you do anything special with recipes you find or modify (or both) or create? Do you plan to pass your creation down to anyone?

Just wondering.

I use mainly word documents for stuff i find on the internet that i want to try. I just copy it from the webpage and then paste it into word.

After i try the recipes that i create in word and if i like them enough then the go into mastercook for more permanent storage.

Ive been thinking of creating my own recipe program and store them in SQL Server (i am a programmer) but time contraints haven't allowed me to do that. To make a recipe program would take quite a bit of time if you want it fully functional.

I store all my recipes on my computer in folders set up like a cookbook. I have folders for Appetizers, soups, pasta, etc. Within each of those folders I have a cookbook folder. That folder contains all the recipes I have made and keep in a 3-ring-binder on the kitchen counter. Untried recipes are in the main folders.

I use MS Word and have a standard format for my recipes.

I do save a lot of "oh, that looks neat" recipes in a file on my computer created in Word, but for special recipes that I want to make sure my daughter might use including a couple from her grandmother, I like having that "can't be erased, can't go off into cyber space" tangible piece of paper. And as much as I FLUV the computer, it's nice to have this piece of paper that I can write on and add notes to.