How to cook a good Curry?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

polo53

Assistant Cook
Hey folks,

First post here so please excuse me if this is in the wrong section!

Me and the missus both enjoy a good curry and have tried to cook them at home with little success. Neither of us are cooks by trade but like to think we have some ability!

We both enjoy Korma's, Masala's, Bhuna's and various other curries!

Has anyone got any recommended cook book, recipes or tips on how to get a quality, thick and tasty curry?

Cheers

P

For lamb or curry recipes requiring chutney, I highly recommend this brand. It can be bought online and at some major chain stores. When I couldn't get Sharwoods, I tried many other brands of chutney, all awful. None of them came close to Sharwood's excellence.

chutney.jpg

Last edited:
I can join in endorsing Madhur Jaffrey. She's good for the beginner as she makes it fairly simple for the home cook - no arcane equipment required and ingredients available in any Morrison's/Sainsbury's (name your own supermarket) and good greengrocers. A lot of the recipes come from her childhood.

Pat Chapman has been at the curry "game" for donkeys' years. He has run the Curry Club since the 1980s.
Here's the CC website - Home - Pat Chapman's Curry Club

Cyrus Todiwala gets some good reviews (from "real" Indian contributors to Amazon.) but I haven't tried any of his books, however, some of the reviewers say he's not for the beginner - whatever that's supposed to mean.

(If you want to cheat or need curry-in-a-hurry Patak's sauces aren't bad. Not the real home-made stuff but passable - I have an Indian friend who keeps them in for emergencies)

Last edited:
Strictly Indian or are you interested in Thai?

Last edited by a moderator:
pasta with curry and whipped cream and bacon

:chef:Hi guys!