"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Cooking Resources > Cookbooks, Software etc.

Old 02-02-2007, 07:52 PM   #1
Head Chef

Publish A Cookbook

Is there any money to be made in publishing a cookbook? Just as an unknown personality type person? Or someone here at DC?

Old 02-03-2007, 09:11 AM   #2
Sous Chef

I self-published a cookbook a couple of years ago to help with Chef scholarship fund raising and I've been able to present one $1,000.00 scholarship. That was without really 'selling' it, as I should have (or should do!) done.

I've found for myself, I'm a great cook and I can write a recipe, but boy, do I hate selling!!! Now that I'm a retired chef, I'm working on two more ideas for books, but....I'll let my husband sell them, not me!

Good luck with your venture.

Old 02-05-2007, 08:31 AM   #3
Head Chef

You can take the lack of responses to this thread as a definite NO. OR the responses to How Many Cookbooks Do You Have? And ponder the situation.

I will compile my recipes for my family and maybe as a community contribution project. Pulling together the history of these times.
Old 02-05-2007, 08:54 AM   #4
Executive Chef

I personally, love to buy this type of cookbook. It's a shame that there isn't a better vehicle to get them advertised in a larger forum than friends, family and the community you are from.

Perhaps DC could have an area for sales; old cookbooks, self published cookbooks, pots, pans, untensils, small appliances, meatball rollers, ginzu knives and other related 'stuff'.
Old 03-28-2007, 12:44 AM   #5
Assistant Cook

It happens - Mollie Katzen was nobody when Ten Speed Press picked up the original Moosewood Cookbook in 1977 - but very rare. As you can see from the books which make it into print, the authors almost always have a marketing hook.