Publish A Cookbook

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

StirBlue

Head Chef
Is there any money to be made in publishing a cookbook? Just as an unknown personality type person? Or someone here at DC?

I self-published a cookbook a couple of years ago to help with Chef scholarship fund raising and I've been able to present one $1,000.00 scholarship. That was without really 'selling' it, as I should have (or should do!) done.

I've found for myself, I'm a great cook and I can write a recipe, but boy, do I hate selling!!! Now that I'm a retired chef, I'm working on two more ideas for books, but....I'll let my husband sell them, not me!

Good luck with your venture.

You can take the lack of responses to this thread as a definite NO. OR the responses to How Many Cookbooks Do You Have? And ponder the situation.

I will compile my recipes for my family and maybe as a community contribution project. Pulling together the history of these times.

I personally, love to buy this type of cookbook. It's a shame that there isn't a better vehicle to get them advertised in a larger forum than friends, family and the community you are from.

Perhaps DC could have an area for sales; old cookbooks, self published cookbooks, pots, pans, untensils, small appliances, meatball rollers, ginzu knives :LOL: and other related 'stuff'.

It happens - Mollie Katzen was nobody when Ten Speed Press picked up the original Moosewood Cookbook in 1977 - but very rare. As you can see from the books which make it into print, the authors almost always have a marketing hook.

From your second post, it appears self-publishing might work for you. Consider Lulu.com. Not tried it myself, but bumped into it in my travels and, so, passing along FWIW. Or there's simple photocopying. Depends, in part, on how many copies you want. Also, how big it will be.

Half Baked said: