"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Cooking Resources > Cookbooks, Software etc.

Old 03-18-2006, 02:43 PM   #1
Cook

Suggestions for beginner cooking books or DVD's etc.

Hi everyone,

I'm an amateur-home cook looking to improve my skills. I need a cookbook not of recipes but, of things like: correct use of herbs and spices, sauces and gravies: how to make and where to use them, best cooking techniques for various cuts of meat, etc. etc. Most of my cooking involves following recipes and techniques I learned from someone else, which is easy enough to do usually. But, I run into trouble when I try to create something new or change someones recipe a little. I have a certain taste in my mind I'm trying to get to, but sometimes the food goes in the wrong direction. I thought if I had a stronger mastery of basic-intermediate skills my cooking would go to a higher level. Am I thinking right or should I continue to mainly follow other peoples recipes?
thanks, Gary

Old 03-20-2006, 03:33 PM   #2
Master Chef

Gary, you cannot go wrong with buying regional, usually comb-bound cookbooks by local charities. They will have tried-and-true recipes that cater to local tastes, and are cheap as well.

Over all, though, Joy of Cooking is king. Every step of the way is explained, and the recipes vary from very beginner to over-the-top gourmet, to ethnic recipes from all over the world. But mainly they will have instructions for every basic skill you will ever need. A good glossary of terms. You just cannot beat this if you're buying only one cookbook.

Old 03-20-2006, 04:06 PM   #3
Head Chef

When I was 12 years old, I received my very first cookbook, the Betty Crocker cookbook. 25 years later and I'm still using it.