Vintage Cookbooks Passed Down in the Family

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Cookbook Shop

Assistant Cook
Greetings from Arizona! Being an avid collector of vintage cookbooks, I am curious to know what (favorite or otherwise) cookbooks you inherited from family members-- mother, father, aunt or grandmother. Two old cookbooks I inherited from my mother are The American Woman's Cookbook (1947) edited by Ruth Berolzheimer, Rumford Complete Cook Book (1931) inherited from her Aunt and Better Homes and Garden's 23rd DeLuxe edition (1951) from my Paternal grandmother. I didn't choose these, but they are mine and cherished never-the-less. My mother was born in 1916 and I in 1950. :wub: Cindy

Wow, no one replied. I am a newbie and just came across your post, and I love vintage cookbooks.
I have several vintage Better Homes and Gardens "New" Cookbooks, I found mine in antique and thrift shops, but some are the same editions I grew up with.
I also, have The Woman's Day Encyclopedias of Cooking. LOVE THEM!!

I also love old cookbooks. Unfortunately, my mother never was one for using cookbooks (or recipes of any kind, for that matter). So we don't have any family cookbooks--I do have the vintage Picayune cookbook, as well as an interesting collection of books my husband and I have accumulated over the past 30-40 years. (note--HIS cookbooks are from the past 40 years--not mine!:D) Some of the old recipes are quite amusing. If you need to know how to prepare a snipe, aspic, or fine young stingaree, let me know!