Which Bread Book Do You Recommend?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Andy,

Honestly I have not used any of the books. I did some reading on the Internet, especially at some bread related forums and then played about.

Good bread isn't that hard, exceptional bread is an art form you can't get to without practice. :)

I am sure you will do ok.

One last tip, be careful where you put the stand mixer.. toilet water probably isn't the best for hydrating your flour.

I like the King Arthur Books, too...but they are more involved and quite large. I was thinking about a good starter book.

Good point.

Can you tell I'm a complete novice with breads?

Not necessarily, I've been watching what you like to eat; the breads you would enjoy most with the foods you eat are artisan breads. Why would you want a book that is picky about white sandwich bread when you would be ecstatic with a pull apart bread? :)

I made a small batch of pizza dough (420 gr. bread flour) last night. Enough dough for two 14" pizzas. It performed normally.

I bought The Bread Baker's Apprentice and the Ratios book. I'm in the process of reading Ratios right now. It really simplifies processes.

Last edited:
Just be sure to keep us up to date...

People buzz in ask a question about something then you never see them again.. :LOL:

Ratios is a cookbook? I thought it was light reading...seriously, I read it cover to cover when I got it.:rolleyes:

The one I bought is a cookbook. In addition to presenting ratios, it provides recipes for different dishes. Its primary focus is to get you to cook using ratios but there are recipes to show you how ratios work.

The one I bought is a cookbook. In addition to presenting ratios, it provides recipes for different dishes. Its primary focus is to get you to cook using ratios but there are recipes to show you how ratios work.