Anyone know of a good set of knives

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mpalamar

Assistant Cook
Does anyone know of a GOOD set of knives to buy? I'm currently looking to replace my pathetic set of Ikea knives and I can't seem to find anything worth buying. I was looking at Miracle Blade for a while, but quickly discovered (like most "As seen on TV" products) that they are "too good to be true".

So? Any particular brand I should look for? I need something that can withstand my brutality... lol. I'm a cook so I use these items on an everyday basis and what I have now just won't cut it (no pun intended).

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Melissa

Hey Melissa,

I buy all of my knives from JapaneseChefsKnife.Com Top Page

They hold their edge really well, hand crafted, 'cheap' (for a good knives, I only use 3 and I didn't pay more than $125) My first knife took 5 days to ship all the way from Japan.

I have the Tojiro line, Gyuto 210, Boning knife, and the Paring knife.

Good luck!
- Nick

buy quality ...be that middle quality such as calphalon, kitchen aide, etc, or top quality Henkles, Wustoff, (both of which have a middle grade and a top grade), or go artisinal high tech New West Knife Works. Find a knife that feels good in your hand. You need about five: chef, slicing, paring, bread, fileting. for good quality expect to pay several hundred for your hand picked set.

Robo410 said:
For good quality expect to pay several hundred for your hand picked set.