Can you identify this tool??

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Step

Assistant Cook
Hi Everyone,

I am new to this forum, I just wondered can anyone identify this tool? I hope you can view the attachment I couldn't work out how to post the image!

Attachments

• DSC04487.jpg
    DSC04487.jpg
    79.2 KB · Views: 477
My first impression is that it is some sort of meat tenderizer. I Googled meat tenderizers/old-fashioned meat tenderizers and didn't see anything that resembled what you are showing.

I'll have to put my thinking hat on and see if anything else comes to mind.

Ah Thank you! Meat tenderizer was mentioned but as you say nothing resembles it.
I found it when I was helping to clear out my granma's flat and we and she can not work out what it is for. I took it to her today and she can't remember only mentioned is it something to do with pottery?! I studied Art at university but didn't recognize it, plus we did find it in her kitchen utensils drawer. She is from Norway so is it possibly Scandinavian?

sorry the picture isn't too clear I should of cropped out the untidy array of nail varnishes and general clutter!

I think you might be on to something with the pottery connection.

The curved, graduated shape of the metal part implies that it might be used in a rocking motion and/or to score some material, be it a consumable or, perhaps, clay.

Your search might yield some results if you delve into the world of pottery art.

I'm baffled, too. Maybe you could check with a museum. Sturbridge Village, Mass. comes to mind, but without knowing what it is, it's hard to think of what to ask.

Does anyone know of a way to search for an image?

Last edited: