"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Cookware and Accessories > Cook's Tools

Old 12-08-2006, 06:28 PM   #1
Assistant Cook

Cookie press

Hello all! I'm a newbie here and I must say this looks like a wonderful site. For the first time today I used my cookie press that I recieved last year as a Christmas gift. I had some problems and I'm hoping that maybe someone with cookie press exprience can give me some advice.
I had real problems getting the lovely little shapes to turn out correctly. When you press the dough out of the press how do you get it to let go of the press? When I pressed it out it seemed to come out like pasta out of a pasta maker. I had to pinch it off with my fingers and reshape it then place it on the cookie sheet. I know that can't be right! I had read that you don't chill the dough, but then I read that you should chill the dough. So which is it?

I would appreciate any and all hints or tips that anyone could give. I really would like to play around with this some more. The cookies came out tasting nice and buttery . Very yum!

Thanks all!

Old 12-08-2006, 08:26 PM   #2
Executive Chef

Welcome to DiscussCooking.com!!

I own a cookie press, but have not used it yet.

Old 12-08-2006, 08:52 PM   #3
Master Chef

The recipe I use does not call for chilling the dough. The cookies do come out of the cookie press similiar to pasta. Make sure that you are pressing the cookie press firmly to the cookie sheet. Do not lift the press until the cookie is totally touching the cookie sheet. I have found that pressing a small amount of dough at a time works better. Filling the press to the top makes it more difficult. Is your press a hand crank one or battery operated? I have used both and prefer the hand cranked cookie press. With that type it is easier to control the flow of the cookie dough. Good luck and I hope this helps.

Theodore Roosevelt
26th president of US (1858 - 1919)