What cooking utensils should I get...?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

krnxguhj33

Assistant Cook
I'm a noob cook and my kitchen has, let's say, less than adequate cooking utensils/anything related to cooking. Right now all i have are 3 cutting boards, some lame knives, 1 10 inch frying pan, and 3 pots. What should I get if I want to be serious about cooking?

Sounds like you need to start small and build up as you build on your experience. It depends on what kind of cooking you're planning on doing and what sort of skill level you're at.

Do you really want to gut and de-bone fish? Ugh! How much money are you looking to invest? How gadgety do you want to get? How quickly do you want to build up your supplies?

The first thing I would suggest doing is probably invest in a good knife or two. I love my Global knife but there is an Australian company called Furi that I've heard good things about too. There's nothing more frustrating than poor quality knives.

Hi. Here are some suggestions: measuring cups (different ones for dry and liquids) and spoons, 3 or 4 different sizes of mixing bowls, a whisk, a couple of spatulas, a box grater (for cheese, citrus zest, etc.), vegetable peeler, set of utensils such as slotted spoon, solid spoon, ladle, pancake turner; a food processor is a great help, but not essential. Good knives are essential. My DH bought me a set of Cutco knives, along with a meat fork and a spreader, because his parents received a set as a wedding present in 1959 and were (probably still are) using the same knives.

Hope this is helpful.

krnxguhj33 said:
well I can cook meat? :D and fish as well. Haven't gotten to being able to gut and de-bone fish...

I consider myself a pretty experienced cook and would never think of gutting fish :yuk: I do need a boning knife for chicken, though ...