"Discover Cooking, Discuss Life."

Go Back   Discuss Cooking - Cooking Forums > General Cooking Information > Cookware and Accessories > Cook's Tools

Old 10-06-2006, 11:58 AM   #1
Assistant Cook

What do you look for in a cheese grater?

Hi everyone,

I am a design student out of Boston, MA and I am currently working a project to improve the cheese grater. Now, I am in my research phase and I am looking at the three main types of graters (microplane, rotary and box) to identify any inherent issues that I might chose to address in the design of a new grater. I have not chosen which type (or combination of types) I am going to design, but I was just wondering your opinions about the current cheese graters out there (From ergonomics to stability, to performance as far as cutting surfaces are concerned, storability, cleaning) any type, any opinion helps! Thanks in advance!

Old 10-06-2006, 12:34 PM   #2
Chef Extraordinaire

Site Moderator

Location: I live in the Heartland of the United States - Western Kentucky
Hi and welcome to DC.

As for cheese graters, I have all three you mention and use them all. I have several microplane graters, ranging from ultra-fine to quite coarse. I also have a Mouli rotary grater, and two box graters. One box grater is the standard old-fashioned 4-sided style metal grater. The other one is a box grater that only has two microplane cutting sides.

I've been cooking for nearly 50 years and have accumulated all manner of cooking "toys" for my kitchen. Each of my graters are valuable to me depending on how I want to prepare my cheeses. If I want nice long thin string-like shreds, I will use one of the cutters on my rotary grater. If I want ultra-fine cheese particles, I use my hand-held microplane strip grater. For shreds of cheese between these two extremes, I depend on other cutters on my rotary grater or on the microplane box grater.