What one tool in your kitchen do you treasure the most?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
My new favourite tool is a 5 kg capacity, electronic, kitchen scale. I love the "tare" function. I can stick a bowl on it; switch it on; and then weigh out whatever.

I guess I should have said my scale, too. I love mine, which sounds quite similar to yours. I've been cooking with a scale for too many years to count and nearly went into a spasm when my trusty old scale went "belly up" last spring. All I can say is thank God for Amazon's free 2-day shipping. Otherwise, well...I just don't know.:ohmy::ROFLMAO:

At any rate, I love cooking using a scale. There have been many, many times when I've prepared a recipe and not dirtied up a single measuring cup. What a breeze for cleaning up!

It's also invaluable for portioning out large quantities of poultry and meats I get on sale, as well as for portioning my produce from the garden when it's time to freeze it for winter use.

Love, love, love my nice little scale.

I can't imagine cooking without a scale. I have a small digital readout scale I've been using for years, to get consistency in portion sizes. (In fact it's Portion Power brand.) If I want to make one serving or two servings I don't want to make enough extra so that I'm sure nobody will be short changed on their serving size, because I don't want to waste the cost of making the extra, and I hate having little parts of servings left over. There's such a thing called a "dog's lunch" and I hate that kind of meal. (It's where you find enough of this and that to make one meal.) I believe that a meal should have a menu, perhaps a salad, a protein, a vegetable and a starch, and they should all harmonize in some way. I don't like when I'm eating this and that solely because I don't want to waste it.