Advice, please, on buying cast iron skillet

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jabbur

Master Chef
I recently reseasoned 2 old CI skillets (Griswold 8 and unmarked 5). I'm enjoying using them and wanted to get a bigger skillet to add to the collection. I've looked at Lodge skillets and noticed that they have a rough surface on the inside as opposed to the smooth surfaces of my old skillets. It makes me wonder about the nonstick properties. It looks like stuff would stick like crazy since the surface is so rough. I haven't bought any yet. Will this rough surface eventually smooth out or not? If it's going to stay that way I will continue my search for the older ones at yard sales or on ebay.

I have no experience with Lodge, jabbur, because almost all of my cast iron is very, very old. Many pieces were given to me and the remainder were purchased at yard sales, etc.

I would tend to hold out for finding the right one at a yard sale or such. Now that the weather is nicer, yard sales will be popping up all over.

However, I'm sure someone who has some of the new Lodge pieces will come along and offer some information.

Best wishes on your quest.

Oh yeah, the surface will eventually smooth out, after it fills with crud.

It seems many are of the belief that whatever is black and stuck to the inside of a piece of iron is seasoning and thus good.

It's not.

A couple of years back I saw Lodge had a stipple(?) finish similar to the surface of a basketball, more recently I see they have a surface like a raw sand cast. To me neither of these surfaces are acceptable as these surfaces promote the collection of crud.

I would go vintage. Grisowold or Wagner if you can find it but dosen't have to be. The new Lodge are OK anything less is just not worth the trouble.