Best Cookware for Curry?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bsc1975

Assistant Cook
My love of Indian food has inspired me to learn how to cook curries.

I'm a novice, but with a handful of dishes behind me I'm ready to purchase new cookware for my hobby.

I've read numerous web articles/forums/etc. and have yet to find a consensus answer as to which is the best pan to cook curry.

I've seen karahi, wok, saute pan, chef's pan, skillet, and dutch oven all as suggestions.

I have an average sized electric stove with typical coil shaped burners.

I'm looking for a pan that heats evenly, cooks well, doesn't taint the flavor or color of my food; a piece of cookware that will last a very long time.

I usually only make enough food for 2-4 people.

I'm willing to spend the money for something that suits my needs.

Any suggestions (type, style, size, brand, etc.) will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Regards,
Bryan

Just as a bit of background and something I wasn't aware of until this past week, but curry isn't Indian. It's a mixture of spices that the British concocted in England to remind them of the flavors of India after they gave it up to independence. It's kind of like the American invention of Chop Suey. It's said that if you ask an Indian cook about their curry dishes, they'll simply stare at you strangely. Indians cook masala.

Anyway, I thought it was interesting when I learned about it.

As to your cookware, curry is generally served as a sauce poured over a protein and bed of rice, so I would think that a nice S.S. sauce pan would serve you best.

I use my dutchoven a ton to cook my wet curries and beans. I also like to use a saute pan or deeper skillets to cook my dry curries.