Calphalon HELP

The friendliest place on the web for anyone that enjoys cooking.
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Bupo107

Assistant Cook
So - a Calphalon pot was left on the stove with a pot of rice and it basically burned the rice to oblivion. Burned in big time.

Anything I can do to save the pot or just chunk it?

Take a deep breath, relax, and tell us what kind of pot (hard anodized, stainless steel, non-stick). That's the first step. If it's not non-stick, or a "ply" material that you managed to melt the aluminum core out of - probably all you need to do is fill it with water and let it soak over night .. then break out a green scrubbie and get to work.

Of course if you warped it ...

As Michael said, soak it in hot water, maybe with some dish soap too, if that doesnt work, try scraping the burnt stuff off with a plastic spatula, and if that doesnt work, chuck it. I've had the same experience with rice in my non stick pot. Im a great cook, but rice is one thing I dont do well. :oops:

Bupo107, cover with water and bring to a slow boil and simmer, begin scraping with a wooden spoon, and when the rice is easily moved with the wooden spoon, remove from heat and dump water. Now rice should come out easily with a sponge or safe scrubber. I have done this and it works.

Or what I just did :roll: is heat the pan up again and when it is hot pour in some water (be very careful of the steam) and "deglaze" the pan.

If you have the hard anodized you can use a metal spoon.

You might have to do this a couple times.

I have also poured in kosher salt - enough to completely cover the bottom and then some and just enough water to cover. Bring to a boil and the salt will also scrape the bits up.

Bupo107 said:
No - it is not non-stick. It's the anondized stuff.

(Gulp)

Relax - unless you heated the pot to the point you warped it, you can save it.